Sean Goulart MC EVENTS Leave a Comment

Bodee O’Neil named 2019 AMA Hillclimb Racer of the Year

PICKERINGTON, Ohio — There was cause for celebration Sunday night as 16 riders were named AMA national champions at the 2019 AMA Hillclimb Grand Championship, which was held July 27-28 at Middle Tennessee Dragway in Buffalo Valley, Tenn.

The nation’s official amateur motorcycle and ATV hillclimb national championship, the event featured more than 400 entries competing in 25 classes.

The winners of three AMA Awards also were announced July 28.

Bodee O’Neil was named AMA Hillclimb Racer of the Year for the second time in three years following a commanding performance. The racer from Hager City, Wis., won four class titles, won the King of the Hill competition and set the best time of the event at 7.801 seconds. O’Neil also is a two-time AMA Youth Hillclimb Racer of the Year, winning that award in 2014 and 2015.

“When I got to the hill, I thought it was going to be a speed hill,” O’Neil said. “But the top was rough, and the second jump had to be timed just right. We made some changes and found a great setup for the weekend.”

A.J. Engnes was named the AMA Youth Hillclimb Racer of the Year. He was one of seven riders to win multiple class championships, capturing the Super Mini and Mini Sr. titles.

Mike Wood, of Bay City, Wis., was named Vet/Senior Hillclimb Racer of the Year for the second consecutive year. He came out on top in the Senior and Super Senior classes.

The winners of each competition class are recognized as AMA national champions and are awarded AMA National No. 1 plates. They will be honored as part of the 2019 AMA Legends & Champions Weekend in Columbus, Ohio Dec. 6-7.

2019 AMA Hillclimb Grand Championship Class Champions:

  • Micro Mini: Owen Parrish, Sarahsville, Ohio
    Super Mini: A.J. Engnes, Beldenville, Wis.
    Mini Sr.: A.J. Engnes, Beldenville, Wis.
    Mini Girls: Abigayle Linde, Charlton, Mass.
    65cc: Charlie Engnes, Beldenville, Wis.
    200cc: Bodee O’Neil, Hager City, Wis.
    Mini Jr.: Charlie Engnes, Beldenville, Wis.
    Senior: Mike Wood, Bay City, Wis.
    Vintage: Michael Nardone, Tolland, Conn.
    125cc: Bodee O’Neil, Hager City, Wis.
    400 Stock: Andrew Fortner, Pittsboro, Ind.
    250cc: Bodee O’Neil, Hager City, Wis.
    Women: Casey Zimmerman, Maiden Rock, Wis.
    Open ATV: Eric Dunn, Nicktown, Pa.
    ATV 450: Kenny O’Brien, Warner, Ohio
    450cc: Bodee O’Neil, Hager City, Wis.
    Two-Stroke: Logan Peterson, River Falls, Wis.
    Open Stock: John Bunner, Ripley, W.Va.
    Super Senior: Mike Wood, Bay City, Wis.
    600cc: Braiden Henry, Mankato, Minn.
    ATV Senior: Kenny O’Brien, Warner, Ohio
    Open: Braiden Henry, Mankato, Minn.
    750: Chris Chartier Jr., Thompson, Conn.
    Four-Stroke: Max Skeans, Ashland, Ky.
    Verticross: Max Skeans, Ashland, Ky.
About the American Motorcyclist Association
Founded in 1924, the AMA is a not-for-profit member-based association whose mission is to promote the motorcycle lifestyle and protect the future of motorcycling. As the world’s largest motorcycling rights and event sanctioning organization, the AMA advocates for riders’ interests at all levels of government and sanctions thousands of competition and recreational events every year. The AMA also provides money-saving discounts on products and services for its members. Through the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame in Pickerington, Ohio, the AMA honors the heroes and heritage of motorcycling. For more information, visit

Not a member? Join the AMA today: 
Photo Credit: Joe Hansen